Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

TF530 - 63030 + RAM Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:17 pm

Thank you sir. :dualthumbup:
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:17 pm

PLCC package ;)

Shouldn't it have 2 DIP sockets, one to plug into the ST and one to plug the TF into ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:31 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:17 pm
PLCC package ;)
Not a fan of the PLCC sockets personally. I cant get them to work reliably and the pins arent as robust being plugged in and out of programmers.
exxos wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:17 pm
Shouldn't it have 2 DIP sockets, one to plug into the ST and one to plug the TF into ?
It just stacks like the TBoard.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:39 pm

As a compromise you could put 2 sets of pads on there for the 27C400 and 27C4096
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:42 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:39 pm
As a compromise you could put 2 sets of pads on there for the 27C400 and 27C4096
:thumbup:

I'm using the SMT PLCC sockets for my dualtos boards, they seem ok so far..

I use a ZIF programmer socket, so they won't get squashed into a socket when programming.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:41 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:42 pm
terriblefire wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:39 pm
As a compromise you could put 2 sets of pads on there for the 27C400 and 27C4096
:thumbup:

I'm using the SMT PLCC sockets for my dualtos boards, they seem ok so far..

I use a ZIF programmer socket, so they won't get squashed into a socket when programming.
Ok the through hole PLCC sockets dont where i wanted them to go.. So maybe 2 versions. The DIP ROM version should also let TF boards run on the A1000.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:53 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:41 pm
Ok the through hole PLCC sockets dont where i wanted them to go.. So maybe 2 versions. The DIP ROM version should also let TF boards run on the A1000.
Stick with DIP if thats easier... I only use PLCC packages personally, but everyone building the board will have to get one or the other ROM anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Wed Jan 09, 2019 1:46 pm

Ok the plan is to allow A18 to be set high, low or to A18 on the machine. A jumper will set ST vs Amiga mode. ST mode will decode at 0xE00000 Amiga at 0xF80000. I’ll put the CS on a header for anyone just wanting to use it as a decoder without ROM.

I may do a 42 pin 27C800 version so I can run AROS at some point too.

I’ll also produce DTACK.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by exxos » Wed Jan 09, 2019 3:34 pm

Add flash instead ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1362
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Wed Jan 09, 2019 5:33 pm

That’s way more problematic. I have a load of flash roms and no way to program them.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply

Return to “TF530”