V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Help & information about the V2.X series boosters.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:47 pm

BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:38 pm
How can it fail for you??
Maybe CPU, RAM, or other hardware issue??

PS: About the strange address, I suspect a jump to a bogus address (wrong RAM, buffer overflow...), then execution of a bogus instruction.

Likely is a hardware issue, but I don't know what... Actually I can load GemBench6 and it will run all day. So its not a huge fault.. just I have no idea where the problem lies...


If I use slow ROM access, floppy format works fine in GEM...

But with EMUTOS...
IMG_3748.JPG
IMG_3748.JPG (78.01 KiB) Viewed 751 times
... I get that after loading PRG...


EDIT:

The diagnostic cart tests all seem fine, other than first boot, keeps saying "I7 BUS ERROR NOT DETECTED" :shrug:
err.jpg
err.jpg (71.35 KiB) Viewed 745 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

BlankVector
Posts: 50
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:51 pm

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by BlankVector » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:22 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:47 pm
The diagnostic cart tests all seem fine, other than first boot, keeps saying "I7 BUS ERROR NOT DETECTED" :shrug:
Does this mean that your hardware doesn't trigger proper Bus Error when expected? That matters for EmuTOS, because it uses Bus Error much to detect optional hardware (Blitter, TT & Falcon hardware, etc.).

BTW, on all your pictures, I see that SR=$27xx, which means that interrupts are masked. Probably because the EmuTOS startup sequence has not enabled interrupts yet. And the PC value is surprising low, this is why I suspect a bad jump to low memory.

Now I need to sleep a bit. Maybe new ideas will come during the night.
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Emulators.

Cyprian
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:16 am

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by Cyprian » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:28 pm

BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 10:38 pm
I have just tested the very same setup with Hatari and it works fine.
It also worked fine on my real STe (TOS 1.62 + EMUTOSFR.PRG)
There is a similar error message in the latest Steem SSE.
EmuTOS shows only "Panic: Bus Error" message:
https://sourceforge.net/p/steemsse/foru ... d020b9da4/
Lynx II / Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:33 pm

BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:22 pm
Does this mean that your hardware doesn't trigger proper Bus Error when expected? That matters for EmuTOS, because it uses Bus Error much to detect optional hardware (Blitter, TT & Falcon hardware, etc.).
GLUE isn't issuing BERR, no idea why. A stock CPU works fine... But I don't know how a booster could effect GLUE generating BERR.. Unless it tests some address which for some reason generates DTACK..
BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:22 pm
BTW, on all your pictures, I see that SR=$27xx, which means that interrupts are masked.
Hmm.. What does that mean exactly ?
BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:22 pm
And the PC value is surprising low, this is why I suspect a bad jump to low memory.
Possible.. There is some odd address error going on somewhere as TOS206 can't start up. BUT TOS206 can start up in 8MHz mode with the booster.
BlankVector wrote:
Wed Jan 09, 2019 11:22 pm
Now I need to sleep a bit. Maybe new ideas will come during the night.
Same here... I'm out of ideas for this really now.

I think there is some odd bus conflict causing wrong address somewhere, but don't know where. Unless something on the DMA side is causing A1 to become corrupted on the CPU bus.. But As CPU is not bus master at that time, then shouldn't matter of anything CPU is doing.

I even waited up to 6X CLK8 cycles after BGACK goes high before releasing BR.. Giving DMA lots of time to finish using the bus. But nothing I try makes any difference.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 10, 2019 5:52 pm

I need a sanity check here...

If I isolate ST_AS like this...

ST_AS.OE = ST_BGACK;

Of course it works... BUT... When something is in control of the bus other than the CPU, it has to request the bus, as such, the CPU enters tristate and all signals are isolated.. So if thats the case, why doesn't removing .OE from ST_AS work ?

1.jpg
1.jpg (65.4 KiB) Viewed 713 times

So I think something else is using the bus, which isn't a bus master...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:13 pm

:WTF:

EMUTOS now gives a new error...

2.jpg
2.jpg (54.83 KiB) Viewed 700 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 488
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by rpineau » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:56 pm

AS on the CPU will go to Z, but not your ST_AS as it's an output of the CPLD unless you tell it to set it to Z ... by using ST_AS.OE
SEC CPU AS -> CPLD -> ST_AS
CPU_AS = Z -> CPLD -> ST_AS is either 0 or 1 depending on internal pull-up config and how the CPLD behave when a signal is driven by an input that goes tri-state.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:59 pm

rpineau wrote:
Thu Jan 10, 2019 6:56 pm
AS on the CPU will go to Z, but not your ST_AS as it's an output of the CPLD unless you tell it to set it to Z ... by using ST_AS.OE
SEC CPU AS -> CPLD -> ST_AS
CPU_AS = Z -> CPLD -> ST_AS is either 0 or 1 depending on internal pull-up config and how the CPLD behave when a signal is driven by an input that goes tri-state.
Ah yes of course, ST_AS is going via PLD.. so outside of CPU going trisate..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:47 pm

Been trying most of today again to get to the bottom of these issues and not getting anywhere. I need to try switching the CPU into 8MHz during BGACK as that is what I do on the STE boosters... Then if the SEC booster works, then I know where the problem is..

I think this is more final V2 now...

2f3c1e46bffa1c027bbdee9aa84c6552.png
2f3c1e46bffa1c027bbdee9aa84c6552.png (83.4 KiB) Viewed 657 times
183a27410e79ea47d49d053a486fdc6d.png
183a27410e79ea47d49d053a486fdc6d.png (51.25 KiB) Viewed 657 times
ad829df8b49f593bdff3626239150b06.png
ad829df8b49f593bdff3626239150b06.png (102.62 KiB) Viewed 657 times
b088766c76da6d46764be7c8265044c5.png
b088766c76da6d46764be7c8265044c5.png (82.86 KiB) Viewed 657 times

Will do a bit of tidying up and likely send it off to fab tomorrow...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7576
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC BOOSTER)

Post by exxos » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:13 pm

PCBs ordered :) They been manufactured already and awaiting courier pickup :)

I was reading though some suska code for the GLUE. There seems to be a lot of "chaos" over bus request timings in there. Seems its relating to syncing to DTACK with the MMU because of RAM interleaving.. This would actually seem to make sense as when I use GLUE decoding and GLUE DTACK, Things seem to work fine, well for 8MHz anyway. Even TOS206 behaves. Oddly though, GLUE doesn't drive DTACK of course for 206, but it seems to still work fine. So its possible /AS is being monitored as well by GLUE and/or MMU. Its not just relating to BGACK if something is using the bus or not.

It makes me wonder if GLUE's "slow" DTACK control is by design. Problem has always been that GLUE sets DTACK low pretty much at the same time /AS goes low. This isn't a problem for the CPU normally as it doesn't see DTACK until much later. BUT, GLUE also keeps DTACK low right up until the next bus cycle in S2. So DTACK is still low right up until the point the CPU sets /AS low again. Which means its low a LOT longer than its supposed to be. But now I am thinking this is deliberate. In that DTACK is kept low for some other reason, like mentioned in the suska code relating to RAM interleaving.

This would make sense as well why I have to switch to 8MHz on BR also. As if the CPU is accessing ROM, it would slow to 8MHz and decode ROM at 8MHz (not 50MHz) Then all the bus grant stuff is timed as per 8MHz. I don't think its just relating to bus grant timings, I have tried 100's of variations and methods relating to it all. So I think DTACK has to be kept low to mimic the GLUE timings when its about to do do a DMA cycle.

Delaying any signals doesn't do a darn thing. So even trying to mimic the timings of 8MHz simply doesn't work. Problem being I can't drive DTACK ST-side from my current board design (I can in the new one). So I need to prove this idea next. Failing that, I will switch to 8MHz mode during DMA stuff like I do on the STE booster. So either way, the problem *should* get fixed.

EDIT:

Another oddity I ran into a few times on boot up, is the screen is white border and black screen, but with a few random corruption lines running across the screen. BUT, the machine does boot up as I can hear the floppy drive loading GB6 up!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply