Problems with Mint

News,announcements,programming,fixes,game patches & discussions.

Moderator: troed

Post Reply
rcamp48
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2018 1:14 am

Problems with Mint

Post by rcamp48 » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:21 pm

I am having problems with Mint 1.19 on my Mega ST4, here is a screen shot showing how far I get.
1551028898928-600265164.jpg
Screen shot from Mint, locks up
1551028898928-600265164.jpg (198.44 KiB) Viewed 884 times
Russ

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8203
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by exxos » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:26 pm

Does mint even run on ST ? Thought it was for the falcon..

You may be better with Geneva I think it was ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

stephen_usher
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by stephen_usher » Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:49 pm

I don't know about the latest MiNT kernels but anything up to version 1.12 came in both 68000 (default) or 68030 (special version) binaries.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1447
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by Icky » Sun Feb 24, 2019 6:37 pm

stephen_usher wrote:
Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:49 pm
I don't know about the latest MiNT kernels but anything up to version 1.12 came in both 68000 (default) or 68030 (special version) binaries.
Latest kernels are in those flavours too. MINT000.PRG or MINT030.PRG

I found even on MegaSTE with 4MB its not really enough grunt and ram to practically use MiNT.

stephen_usher
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by stephen_usher » Sun Feb 24, 2019 9:35 pm

Ah, it must have bloated a bit over time then, probably all the plug-in filesystem and MiNTnet code. I did a bit of the initial coding/porting of MiNTOS on my 520STM with 2.5MB RAM and 28MB Third Coast Technologies (ICD + Seagate) hard disk. That was before the MiNT kernel worked properly on the TT. Those were the days... :lol:
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

stephen_usher
Posts: 366
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by stephen_usher » Sun Feb 24, 2019 9:37 pm

To the OP...

Try disabling the extensions such as MiNTnet and that sound driver. Just include the minimal set of extensions, in case it's running out of memory.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

mikro
Posts: 164
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by mikro » Mon Feb 25, 2019 6:52 am

Yeah, it should run on the ST as well. As mentioned, try to strip it down, ideally to only MINT.PRG without any modules.

tuxie
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Problems with Mint

Post by tuxie » Mon Feb 25, 2019 8:17 am

Remove unnecessary kernal modules from the folder c:\mint\cur\19-xxxxx\

it looks like there is a module for an non exisiting hardware. Maybe DSP ? Did you check if you also copiyed the right kernel modules to this folder ? Must also be for the 000 Kernel .

Post Reply

Return to “SOFTWARE PROGRAMMING & DISCUSSION”