Red PSU installed

Repairs & upgrades.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7891
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Red PSU installed

Post by exxos » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:25 pm

Finally put together one of the newer power supplies for one of my test machines :)

This one had the last of the black switches, I also replaced the power socket with the new one.

I thought it was time I switched up from my original Beta test PSU :)

IMG_3992.JPG
IMG_3992.JPG (387.59 KiB) Viewed 322 times

IMG_3994.JPG
IMG_3994.JPG (368.53 KiB) Viewed 322 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
zack4mac
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2018 10:33 am
Location: Wales

Re: Red PSU installed

Post by zack4mac » Mon Apr 15, 2019 2:34 pm

The essential upgrade worth every penny :thumbup:
Atari 2600, XEGS, STF/FM/E MSTE/TT CBM 16/64 VC20 PET A500, 600, 1200, BBC B, ZX81, ZX +3 Harlequin ZXuno plus too much junk to fit in one skip! :roll: my username should be Mr Hoarder.

stephen_usher
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Red PSU installed

Post by stephen_usher » Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:45 pm

One strange thing I've encountered with the Red PSU on my STE, which I've just verified tonight by swapping back the original...

NetUSBee networking doesn't work with the new PSU. This is increadibly strange given that the Exxos one is far better in terms of meeting the specification. Weird!

Anyway, just something to note.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7891
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Red PSU installed

Post by exxos » Wed Oct 09, 2019 9:23 pm

These machines are fickle. Slightly higher or lower voltage on the PSU and its enough to upset some machines. One of my STE's doesn't boot with a diagnostic cartridge in. They need the bus resistor packs changing for 2.2K to make them stable. I will be putting together some kits for this in due course.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “PSU (power supplies)”