2600 Composite mod

Any 8bit repairs, images, cool things, upgrades etc.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1250
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat May 18, 2019 4:11 pm

PhilC wrote:
Sat May 18, 2019 2:13 pm
Too many projects, too little time.
I hear ya, same problem here :(

Lawns need mowing, diswashers repairing, taps fitting, have to do Karate as my next grading is potentially at the end of July, but I have to pass the assesment in June first, the list is endless with not enough time or energy for everything.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu May 23, 2019 6:24 pm

New output buffer chips finally arrived, but there is a slight problem :roll:

boo.jpg
boo.jpg (187.42 KiB) Viewed 653 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

stephen_usher
Posts: 307
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by stephen_usher » Thu May 23, 2019 6:51 pm

Wrong package type?
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

User avatar
PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Thu May 23, 2019 6:53 pm

Mount it upside down or on its side for testing at least? was that where the cap was supposed to go?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu May 23, 2019 7:04 pm

The capacitor is on the bottom of the board, it is the pads which are the problem, as the bottom of the IC as a metal pad, so it would actually short out VCC and GND on the cap vias.

So I did this..

IMG_4210.JPG
IMG_4210.JPG (100.83 KiB) Viewed 643 times

I get some strange black lines shooting across the screen at the moment. This chip is supposed to have automatic black level, it does have a adjustment, but it does not seem to do anything, and the black still does not look totally black either... Some more experimenting needed...

IMG_4211.JPG
IMG_4211.JPG (98.13 KiB) Viewed 643 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu May 23, 2019 7:41 pm

Right, so its the AGC causing these issues kinda...

I put a couple of presets on the board so I can adjust the brightness and black level, but I can see the AGC slowly moving the brightness up and down basically counteracting what I am doing... And that some points it adjusts so fast it causes of raster lines in the black background...

So I am going to disable the AGC, and try again...

Overall I think the image does actually look better going via this new chip.

IMG_4212.JPG
IMG_4212.JPG (221.1 KiB) Viewed 639 times
IMG_4213.JPG
IMG_4213.JPG (289.81 KiB) Viewed 639 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1517
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by PhilC » Thu May 23, 2019 7:49 pm

It does look pretty good on the colours but black doesn't seem as dark as you had it before but it could just be the camera?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu May 23, 2019 8:13 pm

PhilC wrote:
Thu May 23, 2019 7:49 pm
It does look pretty good on the colours but black doesn't seem as dark as you had it before but it could just be the camera?
I think its the camera. I can still see black isn't totally black on my monitor, but I have the black level turned right down, and it actually starts getting brighter if turned down to much.. I think the AGC freaks out and gives it a voltage boost when black level goes to dim.

I tried without the AGC, and the brightness is all over the place, hard to get it stable.

I think it is as good as it is ever going to get, I mean it is only composite video after all, but I think a lot of these issues are relating to my crappy monitor more than anything.

Current mash up..
IMG_4215.JPG
IMG_4215.JPG (119.57 KiB) Viewed 635 times

Overall I think I just need to add 2 presets onto the board, so people can experiment with the brightness and black level controls...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Thu May 23, 2019 10:24 pm

Pots added... SOIC package changed.. Data sheets says use 100nF and 1uF, I don't see the the point but I added in a second cap to each chip to try it out...

Now to wait for the next PCB order...

2.jpg
2.jpg (167.31 KiB) Viewed 628 times

I may remove the middle chip and see if it works without it.. its only doing the video mixing, but likely just linking the 2 signals together will work.. will try and do that tomorrow...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7118
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 2600 Composite mod

Post by exxos » Fri May 24, 2019 2:26 pm

I tried removing the middle chip, and just wire linking the inputs and outputs, but I could not get video at all, even adjusting the presets etc, but these chips are not particularly expensive anyway, so I will just leave it in..

IMG_4216.JPG
IMG_4216.JPG (101.57 KiB) Viewed 614 times

I have tweaked the PCB again, basically adding in jumper pads to enable and disable the AGC, and to enable x2 brightness mode. However these adjustments have little effect when the AGC is enabled, as if you increase the brightness manually, AGC automatically decreases the brightness.

Overall I think just allowing the AGC enabled and just forgetting the manual settings is likely the way to go, but people will have to test this out on various monitors first.

1.jpg
1.jpg (161.99 KiB) Viewed 614 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply