PJ-V2's 530 Build

TF530 - 63030 + RAM Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:54 pm

Well I am confused...

I have a 40MHz 030 so I thought I would try and clock it to 50MHz.
Installed a 50MHz oscillator and no joy. Is there any clear info on what is needed for 50MHz? As I just read loads of different posts about firmware revisions and nothing is seemingly working for me. I have been getting odd IDE errors asking me if I want to suspend or reboot.
Either that or some revisions just blank screen.

EzdineG
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by EzdineG » Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:18 pm

Try removing the fpu if you have one installed.

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:27 pm

EzdineG wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 2:18 pm
Try removing the fpu if you have one installed.
Yeah I've done that. What I am asking is if there is anywhere that has info on a stable release? Also I've read posts where people have changed resistor values. It's all very confusing.

User avatar
chue
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:46 pm
Location: United States

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by chue » Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:28 pm

I've been using the binaries from here, and it worked (RAM tested ok, and Frontier ran):
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... _alpha.zip

As for the resistors, I used 1K everywhere, except for the network (RN3) near the FPU where I used 4.7K.

User avatar
chue
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2018 4:46 pm
Location: United States

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by chue » Tue Jun 04, 2019 5:53 pm

Sorry for any confusion - my 530 is running at 40 mhz, not 50. Don't know if that will make any difference.

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 124
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: PJ-V2's 530 Build

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:12 am

chue wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 4:28 pm
I've been using the binaries from here, and it worked (RAM tested ok, and Frontier ran):
https://github.com/terriblefire/terribl ... _alpha.zip

As for the resistors, I used 1K everywhere, except for the network (RN3) near the FPU where I used 4.7K.
Oh sorry about the late reply, I've been busy.
It turns out it was my PSU, I forgot it was crap at being pushed and I usually only use it for powering up boards I'm fixing. The little bit more power tipped it over the edge.
Anyhow, it now runs fine at 50MHz, save for the heat it's generating, so I may clock it back to 40MHz so I can close my case.

Post Reply

Return to “TF530”