TF536 on A300/A600

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:29 pm

8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:10 pm
terriblefire wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:22 pm
Its funny. My first Amiga was an A600.. yet i've never build an accelerator for it.
You already did, Steve :lol:
We just need to figure out how to fit it inside the A600 case :lol:
:D

I believe an adapter board would have to be at least this size to be able to mount it securely with screws through the holes for the hard drive cradle. There would be a helluva lot of dead space on it. Any ideas on where on this board the dip64 socket would go? I think it would be cramped as hell in there. :)

Screenshot 2019-07-08 at 00.21.32.png
Screenshot 2019-07-08 at 00.21.32.png (492.55 KiB) Viewed 1383 times
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:37 pm

Crap. You had to go and make me start to think. Anyone have a 1:1 scan of the top side of the TF536 PCB? :D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

Maximilian
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by Maximilian » Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:27 pm

Does the problem with VPA still exist? (do we still need to cut the track on the A300/600 PCB?

Is the use of the original (defunct) IDE connector as a support for the PCB an option?

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:16 am

Maximilian wrote:
Fri Jul 26, 2019 9:27 pm
Does the problem with VPA still exist? (do we still need to cut the track on the A300/600 PCB?

Is the use of the original (defunct) IDE connector as a support for the PCB an option?
No cutting on the Amiga side is necessary. The IDE header could possibly be used as a support, but as different PLCC sockets might have different heights I think that using the holes for the hard drive cradle is a better option.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”