Trudie - The Next IDE Board

All the good stuff hardware and software wise for the Phoenix H5 series motherboards.
tzok
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by tzok »

So I guess the ancient WinCUPL? If so, then my hint is - when you finish writing code, save it and close WinCUPL, then start it again, load your project, don't touch it, and then compile it. You can also use a Prochip Designer, for writing and compiling CUPL code for ATF15xx. Third option is to generate the POF file for EPM7128SLC84 (MAX7000) in Quartus II and convert it to JED with POF2JED tool, and then program the ATF with this file (but no CUPL there, only VHDL and Verilog).
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

tzok wrote: Sat Aug 03, 2019 8:44 pm So I guess the ancient WinCUPL? If so, then my hint is - when you finish writing code, save it and close WinCUPL, then start it again, load your project, don't touch it, and then compile it. You can also use a Prochip Designer, for writing and compiling CUPL code for ATF15xx. Third option is to generate the POF file for EPM7128SLC84 (MAX7000) in Quartus II and convert it to JED with POF2JED tool, and then program the ATF with this file (but no CUPL there, only VHDL and Verilog).
It be whatever the latest version is to download. I know it hasn't been supported for a long time and know its got some bizarre bugs, but how did you find out that changing code causes issues ? (have you used cupl then ?)
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
tzok
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:27 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by tzok »

WinCUPL has a huge memory leaks, in my case the first symptom of this is that syntax highlighting crashes when I use the editor... it also produces unpredictable output files (part of the code may be missing), after working in GUI/Editor for a while. I have used it only a few times... but more or less I learnt how to use it. I have rewritten PP's ACSI2CF GAL listing to CUPL. For such small GALs I was working with, the output JED file is human readable, so I could easily see, that "something went wrong" during compilation. Also - the project filename should be the same as the Name declaration in the PLD source file.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

There is screwyness with the location of the code in the editor as well. That threw me for a bit until Atmel debugged it. I will try a re-compile later from freshly loading cupl and see if it helps.
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

I tried opening CUPL and compiling without making any changes and compiled, I checked the jed files and the only thing which seems to have changed is the time and date which seems to be in the file. I programmed the firmware just to make sure, and it is still malfunctioning.

So will just have to wait until Atmel reply about the issue :roll:


EDIT:

I think I figured out the problem... #bobslaw
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

Decided to give the byte swapping a try....

IMG_4503.JPG
IMG_4503.JPG (54.51 KiB) Viewed 3788 times

I guess it worked :lol:

:lolbig: :dizzy:

EDIT:

so partitioning on the ST resulted in it saying it could not write to root sector :stars: But placing the card in the PC did recognise a 100MB partition which I just created on the ST... Now card is back in the ST and it recognises the card which I formatted on the PC... But currently cannot access it :roll:

IMG_4504.JPG
IMG_4504.JPG (78.91 KiB) Viewed 3784 times

I tried partitioning as Windows only, but did not seem to help :( so there must be a little bit more to byte swapping than I originally thought :roll:


EDIT2:

*scratches head*

I put TOS & windows back again and do recognise the C drive this time... But it still complained about not being able to access the root sector...

IMG_4505.JPG
IMG_4505.JPG (96.66 KiB) Viewed 3776 times

EDIT3:

I put the card back in the PC, and copied a file to it.... Put the card back in the ST , I get the C drive will bought I do not get the file :cry: :cry:

So I created a folder on the ST, and I do not see it on the PC... my brain hurts... :lol:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

So on my PC I have this folder...

pc1.JPG
pc1.JPG (15.55 KiB) Viewed 3763 times
pc2.jpg
pc2.jpg (14.9 KiB) Viewed 3763 times


And on the ST I have this..

st.jpg
st.jpg (52.98 KiB) Viewed 3763 times

So the card works on ST and PC, but it seems to be using somehow different partition or something :stars: :stars: :shrug: :shrug:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6037
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by PhilC »

:dizzy:

And I know how you enjoy a puzzle. Looks like the card is possessed :evil: :twisted:
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

PhilC wrote: Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:05 pm And I know how you enjoy a puzzle. Looks like the card is possessed :evil: :twisted:
It must be using the "B-side" of the CF card.. that's my theory :lol:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23705
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos »

So the windoze partition is at the start of the drive which disk manager states....

But the file name "11111111" which is on the ST only seems to appear in the un-partitioned space.. :shrug:

666.jpg
666.jpg (59.66 KiB) Viewed 3744 times
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
Post Reply

Return to “PHOENIX ZONE”