TF330 WiFi?

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

sugar
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by sugar » Sat Aug 17, 2019 10:49 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:35 pm
I’m gonna have a play with this on the TF360 this weekend...
Good stuff. Looking forward to this.

MickGyver
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:21 am

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by MickGyver » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:21 pm

Did anybody here managed to get WIFI working, and could give some hints on how to set things up?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:32 pm

There are many ways to do this.

But all the TF330 does is let you talk to the ESP module. You need to choose a TCP/IP stack for the Amiga and then create a dial script for the ESP module.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

MickGyver
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:21 am

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by MickGyver » Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:58 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:32 pm
There are many ways to do this.

But all the TF330 does is let you talk to the ESP module. You need to choose a TCP/IP stack for the Amiga and then create a dial script for the ESP module.
Thanks, so in practice, I guess there isn't any "easy" solution to connect to a wifi network using the ESP module? It's hard to try anything with no documentation at all.

Did somebody else here get this working and could share some insight?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:05 pm

I got it working using a zmodem esp firmware, roadshow and pppd on a Linux box to route it.

The CF card, ESP module and pi have all gone awol
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Glen M
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 8:51 pm

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by Glen M » Fri Nov 08, 2019 12:54 pm

Sorry to dig out an older thread but I'm I reading this correct that you can add a ESP8266 module to the TF330 as a networking solution?

I can't find much info on this but it sounds interesting. Has a guide ever been pulled together for this?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by terriblefire » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:27 pm

There isn’t really a guide.

Essentially the ESP module appears on the Amiga serial port...

How you make it work is kinda a software thing from there.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by terriblefire » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:35 pm

I've had a go at this this afternoon. I got stuck when i tried to make roadshow use SLIP. Doesnt seem to be obvious how to do this.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

sugar
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2019 10:28 pm

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by sugar » Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:46 pm

This post may be low on information but you should configure an interface at devs/netinterfaces to use device=slip.device and then start that interface.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2842
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 WiFi?

Post by terriblefire » Sun Feb 23, 2020 10:07 pm

sugar wrote:
Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:46 pm
This post may be low on information but you should configure an interface at devs/netinterfaces to use device=slip.device and then start that interface.
Yeah i tried and got an error. Also roadshow doesnt come with slip.device. I had to hunt for it on aminet.

This maybe an alternative approach for people to get going

https://blog.nootch.net/post/amiga-bbs-online-2019/
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply

Return to “TF330”