AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

News,announcements,programming,fixes,game patches & discussions.

Moderator: Petari

tuxie
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by tuxie » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:46 pm

There was long time ago a thread in the neighbour forum about modding the Tos2.06/3.06 with the Falcon AES. Does some know if there is a progress ? Or does someone know how we can do it ? Would be great to give the TT a facelift ;)

I know the AES Code is available

Regards

troed
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by troed » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:11 pm

Well the source is available for TOS 2.06/3.06 to build binary exact replicas. Can't be that difficult to replace the AES then?

tuxie
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by tuxie » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:41 pm

If it wasn’t a joke in the Atari-Forum then it could be possible

troed
Posts: 224
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by troed » Mon Jan 08, 2018 11:10 pm

Well there is _something_, but not released I think. Digging it out on the DHS bulletin board, which is where I saw it, is another matter ...

IIRC they were still working on video modes. But I could be completely wrong. Will ask in #atariscne ..

Petari
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by Petari » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:16 am

TOS 2.06 is in 256KB space, while 3.xx and 4.xx are in 512KB. So, I don't think that Falcon AES can fit in 2.06, or better said in 256 KB.
Of course, we can enlarge ROM space in ST machines, and even in STE ones, to 512KB, but that is not 'into 2.06' .

And I would ask for that Falcon AES code - where can I DL it ?
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by Maeke » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:57 am

There really was such a modded tos available, i tested it, will see if i find it back.
But it wasn't finished.
For the wait http://www.atariuptodate.de/en/8557/tos-208
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

Petari
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by Petari » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:43 am

I just can't believe that Falcon AES can fit in TOS 2.06 space - it is 512KB vs. 256KB total ROM space. I'm afraid that there is some mistake made by someone. Probably just some parts of Falcon AES, Desktop. As Gembench says "Don't believe everything you see" :D
There is 2 kind of people: one thinking about moving to Mars after here becomes too bad, the others thinking about how to keep this planet habitable.

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by Maeke » Tue Jan 09, 2018 9:59 am

Petari wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:43 am
I just can't believe that Falcon AES can fit in TOS 2.06 space - it is 512KB vs. 256KB total ROM space. I'm afraid that there is some mistake made by someone. Probably just some parts of Falcon AES, Desktop. As Gembench says "Don't believe everything you see" :D
There is a reason for this, the falcon tos is multilingue, the modified tos was english only, takes less rom space, and we are talking about the aes only, not the whole tos.
And i repeat, i have used it, it really was the falcon's desk.

Edit: https://forum.atari-home.de/index.php?topic=12555.0
It was called tos 2.16
Bildschirmfoto.png
Bildschirmfoto.png (20.67 KiB) Viewed 554 times
Yet again it's an unfinished work, so don't use it as your main ste tos.
Attachments
tos_ste_fastboot_pal.7z
(127.47 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

tuxie
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by tuxie » Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:53 am

Yeah this was my post in the german forum. I tested also this version. My thoughts is to put it into Tos3.06 to bring a new look to TT without loading anything from Auto Folder.

User avatar
Maeke
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:09 pm

Re: AES 3.4 into Tos 2.06/3.06

Post by Maeke » Tue Jan 09, 2018 11:35 am

tuxie wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 10:53 am
Yeah this was my post in the german forum. I tested also this version. My thoughts is to put it into Tos3.06 to bring a new look to TT without loading anything from Auto Folder.
Well it could be done, but we'd need to compile in as many different languages as needed (one language by compilation) for the ste, dunno for the TT.
And we need to find how to fix the few bugs (including the resolutions that aren't supported with the computer it's done for).
If i take too long to reply, sorry my cat is sleeping on my laps.

Post Reply