CHINON FX-354

Problems with your machine in general.
grazey
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:59 am

CHINON FX-354

Post by grazey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:07 pm

Hi Guys,

I'm having trouble with an old external floppy.

It's a CHINON FX-354.

By default the drive is set as Drive A: , however I would like it set up at B:

I have searched the web but can not find the correct jumper settings. I have experimented and tried multiple settings but none set it to B:

Any ideas? (I have attached a photo of the current settings)
IMG_4509.JPG
IMG_4509.JPG (164 KiB) Viewed 281 times
GRZ

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:11 pm

So first off, what machine are you trying to connect it to? For Atari ST all drives need to be set to DS0 to be seen together.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

grazey
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:59 am

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by grazey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:12 pm

MegaSTE

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:14 pm

Then AFAIK you will need to have it set to DS0 and connected to the external floppy port in order for it to run. Does it work as a drive A when set to DS0 and connected to the internal drive connector?
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

grazey
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:59 am

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by grazey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:17 pm

Yes, that's what I've found.

The floppy only works when set to DS0 (like in the photo).

However, this means the internal floppy doesn't work. For example, if I autoboot with a disk in the internal drive and one in the external drive it boots from the external drive.

I can not use the internal and external together.

I'm writing a floppy imager program, I thought my crappy code was at fault, but it seems not :)

GRZ

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:23 pm

Ok, unusual.

I'd assume that it would work the same as any ST, whereby you would have both drives set to DS0, and the ST does the deciding of which is A: and Which is B:.

At least that's the way my external drive works on all my STs, though I have to say I've never tried it on my MSTE as I have that network connected with a CosmosEx, so no need for 2 FDDs. Otherwise works fine on my STs, Mega STs and STEs.

I certainly never had any of those try and boot from B: before.

Wonder if the MSTE is different? I don't know enough about it as not had it long.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

grazey
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:59 am

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by grazey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:26 pm

Ok,

I'll try the drive on my STFM to narrow things down a wee bit.

GRZ

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2867
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by rubber_jonnie » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:32 pm

Good stuff.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

grazey
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 10, 2020 10:59 am

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by grazey » Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:51 pm

Testing Done

Ok, spooky indeed!

External drive works fine on my 1040 STFM

But not on my Mega STE!

On the Mega it continues to act as Drive A, so I can't use the internal drive.

Grz

czietz
Posts: 305
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: CHINON FX-354

Post by czietz » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:03 pm

In the MegaSTE, check jumpers W401 and W402 for the correct settings:
https://docs.dev-docs.org/htm/search.ph ... +Schematic

Post Reply

Return to “HARDWARE ISSUES”