H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Information and progress towards the H5 board.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3354
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by terriblefire » Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:08 am

exxos wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:06 am
WiseGreasyBastard wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:57 am


You stuck with 24 bit address with a 68k socket. Designing in a processor card bus would allow for full 32 bit and other I/O without additional jumper wires.
Only the CPU can use 32bit address, so 24bit on the sockets is irrelevant,
Indeed. Everything on the Atari is 24 bit address space anyway.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

WiseGreasyBastard
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:41 am

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by WiseGreasyBastard » Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:15 am

exxos wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:06 am
Only the CPU can use 32bit address, so 24bit on the sockets is irrelevant,
Using the existing hardware that's true.
You could map new hardware into the new space, but who is going to bother making the new hardware?

It was just an idea.

User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 799
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by JezC » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:56 am

terriblefire wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:54 am
exxos wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 12:51 am
You can do this already with the H4. Remove the cpu and plug in a TF536 like others have done.
Agreed. My question was that if everyone is already going to grab a TF536 and put them in these boards then its probably worth integrating... its not like it would be lots of work.
@terriblefire I'd probably think about starting this as a separate topic or any responses are likely to get 'lost' in the H5 developments.

I'd love an option for an integrated accelerator like that (as I am not confident of my SMT skills ATM)!

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 436
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by DoG » Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:57 am

Can we add the IRQ from ASCI port pin 10 somewhere on the board? Maybe under the ASCI port perhaps or near the four 68k sockets? Just a single pin would be nice so you don't have to solder a on a leg.

Great for pcb that have IDE and boot from HDD function in TOS.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3354
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by terriblefire » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:01 pm

DoG wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 11:57 am
Can we add the IRQ from ASCI port pin 10 somewhere on the board? Maybe under the ASCI port perhaps or near the four 68k sockets? Just a single pin would be nice so you don't have to solder a on a leg.

Great for pcb that have IDE and boot from HDD function in TOS.
I'll second this although i'd like to find a solution like the Amiga one on the TF534/TF536
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12239
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by exxos » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:06 pm

There are 2 headers with it on already...
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 436
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by DoG » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:12 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:06 pm
There are 2 headers with it on already...
Great.

EDIT: Aah, you mean the internal ASCI port for US and Mega STe port. Of course.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by Icky » Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:41 pm

DoG wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:12 pm
exxos wrote:
Sat Jun 27, 2020 12:06 pm
There are 2 headers with it on already...
Great.

EDIT: Aah, you mean the internal ASCI port for US and Mega STe port. Of course.
Hi @DoG - you can tap it off of these pins in pink.

Screenshot 2020-06-27 at 12.38.24.png
Screenshot 2020-06-27 at 12.38.24.png (206.8 KiB) Viewed 1538 times

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2493
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by Icky » Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:50 pm

So here are a few renders of the latest H5 revision.

Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.48.59.png
Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.48.59.png (1.09 MiB) Viewed 184 times
Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.48.19.png
Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.48.19.png (1003.57 KiB) Viewed 184 times
Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.41.57.png
Screenshot 2020-09-27 at 13.41.57.png (1.27 MiB) Viewed 184 times

User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 799
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: H5A Phoenix Platform Edition - A platform for the future

Post by JezC » Sun Sep 27, 2020 2:05 pm

:goodpost:

Looking good - looks as if the MFP in the PLCC package is pretty much the only package change (other than the various logic/level shifters...most of which will be pre-fitted)?

Post Reply

Return to “H5 Phoenix Platform Edition”