STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
Locked
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:08 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 5:02 pm
Those poor poor souls. I hope they still have hair left after the weekend, :D
Depends if you guys bend any of the pins or not ;)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:06 pm

Guinea pig no.2 checking in.

The cup goes in really easy once the pins are lined up. And the spacer makes the whole thing sit with about 2mm of cpu pin showing between the socket and the booster board.

I'm assembling the fast rom board next.

On the booster can I presume that sw is the speed select like on the previous version? Also with ce going to the fast rom board as before?

One final question for now at least, where does the small resistor go? Would say the value but I've forgotten what gold is
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:13 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:06 pm
On the booster can I presume that sw is the speed select like on the previous version? Also with ce going to the fast rom board as before?
Yes.
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 8:06 pm
One final question for now at least, where does the small resistor go? Would say the value but I've forgotten what gold is
In series with CE line to booster...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:01 pm

Cool, all assembled, ready for some testing
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:41 pm

I was testing Franks blitter demo and noticed something odd when the blitter is enabled...

odd.jpg
odd.jpg (118.78 KiB) Viewed 1208 times

It looks like the background isn't be cleared/restored :shrug:

When in 8MHz mode, or using CPU render, it is all fine.. so something is tripping up somewhere :roll:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:37 pm

So not sure if I've done something daft but..

The STe gas been running fine but the GB6 results just look like that of a standard STe.
I'm running tos2.06 , the ce wire is connected to ce pin on fast rom board with resistor in between and sw has nothing connected.

Have I forgotten to do something?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:46 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:37 pm
So not sure if I've done something daft but..

The STe gas been running fine but the GB6 results just look like that of a standard STe.
I'm running tos2.06 , the ce wire is connected to ce pin on fast rom board with resistor in between and sw has nothing connected.

Have I forgotten to do something?
As long as you did not connect SW to GND (it enables 8MHz mode).. nothing else to it...

You did remove the old CPU (only other thing I can think of)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1819
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:57 pm

Yeah the old cpu is sat on the table as we speak.

The floppy drive is touching the socket for the rom but I have taped that and will bin the floppy for a gotek eventually. Could it be the ce wire?

And as I said, sw has nothing connected to it.

GB figures attached.
Attachments
20180731_225436.jpg
20180731_225436.jpg (8.56 MiB) Viewed 1169 times
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7874
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:05 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 10:57 pm
The floppy drive is touching the socket for the rom but I have taped that and will bin the floppy for a gotek eventually. Could it be the ce wire?

And as I said, sw has nothing connected to it.
odd.. check pin 1 of the GAL make sure you have 40MHz there... I did test the boosters before I sent them out, so no idea why its stuck in 8MHz mode unless the osc has died. :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:12 pm

Mine should be going in tonight, so I'll report back on here when done.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

Locked

Return to “STE V1 32MHz BOOSTER”