DiagROM for ST

Essentials, news, discussion.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 3410
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:21 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:05 pm
The Diagnosis cart is a toy for checking if something subtle is happening in on of the chips. DiagROM will help you find data bus shorts when building a machine.

I don't tend to use the cart much at all.. it can test a lot of things, but for me its pointless. I mean I know if the keyboard isn't working, I don't need the cart to tell me that. Over serial on a faulty machine, I only saw garbage output, if the system is working fine, then the serial is fine, but again, unless the machine is partly working its just useless for me.

czietz wrote a really good RAM test program viewtopic.php?f=25&t=28 as the atari-cart wasn't finding some very subtle errors. So that one is more in-depth tests and finds such faults. But of course the machine has to be partly working to load it up. I'm waiting for the proper cartridge version at the moment as I want to add it to my own diag-cart board.

The tool I use is GB6 for testing, its not designed to be a diagnostic tool, but it tests a lot of the system and its the only program I really use.. Beyond that its guesswork and scope readings. As you know now with your new LA, you can quickly find things which would take me months to find otherwise. A lot of it is noise related glitches on the ST bus which are a nightmare to track down. Pretty much have to guess at what line is doing it and keep trying :roll:

There are not many who will really understand such problems, I mean look at the nightmare the DMA issues cause on the STe. Its why I made the choice to jump to designing a new ST board and debugging that instead. The ST faults are never ending and seem to be getting worse over time, I am really "done" with messing about with those faults. Once its been tested out and working stable, then it will start getting upgrades. Of course we need good tools to get the new STF board up and running.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:36 pm

Yes. DMA on the STFM is a nightware enough :)

I've updated DiagROM to build 2 versions. One 256K (labelled STE but its not really exclusively that) and one for STFM (labelled ST).

https://github.com/terriblefire/diagrom ... master/bin

"STE" version is 256K, has version $0206 and has a base of $E00000
"ST" version is 192K, has version $0104 and has a base of $FC0000

Its trivial to add more configurations. Any code that anyone wants in here i'm happy to add.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 3410
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:39 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:36 pm
"STE" version is 256K, has version $0206 and has a base of $E00000
"ST" version is 256K, has version $0104 and has a base of $FC0000
Sweet! Everyone ROM combo there as well! :thumbup:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:42 pm

Now if only you'd put 27c512 roms on the STF remake, got loads of them.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 3410
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:50 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:42 pm
Now if only you'd put 27c512 roms on the STF remake, got loads of them.
I got loads of PLCC's ;) :P
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:24 pm

I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.

Forgottenmyname
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:43 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:24 pm
I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.
LMAO, thanks...... I think :lol:

terriblefire
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:55 pm

Hold off trying this. just found an issue.

User avatar
crashman
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:55 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by crashman » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:25 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 1:24 pm
I also just added a cart version too. For the whingers.
Thanks!
For ALL your work.

The DiagRom will be a perfect add to a QuadTOS solution.

terriblefire
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:12 pm

ok fixed the issue. Now confirmed working on the ST.

Post Reply