RESET circuit tweaks

Open source STF clone project.
Post Reply
Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:45 pm

I noticed that the 7705 is also designed to perform a reset on voltage loss scenarios (probably obvious to you all) is it worth checking the VCC on pin 8 and 7 to see if its dropping in time with the pulses?

only other thing I can see is the cap on REF is too small, should be 0.1uf not 0.01uf. so that might be worth a try I guess?

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:50 pm

I got it working. :?

Have been testing using bench PSU at 5v. Cranked it up to 5.5v and the circuit is steady.

Screen Shot 2018-11-10 at 20.46.50.png
Screen Shot 2018-11-10 at 20.46.50.png (22.01 KiB) Viewed 45 times

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:53 pm

:D well we got there in the end then

Now you've fixed it I have to get distracted by X Factor...... *sigh*

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:57 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:53 pm
:D well we got there in the end then

Now you've fixed it I have to get distracted by X Factor...... *sigh*
Yes - Thats the prototype board sorted. Now need to translate it to the reset board and STF as I think there are a few value changes to be done.

Enjoy Xfactor :D

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 553
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:01 pm

Icky wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:57 pm

Enjoy Xfactor :D
Do I have to? :geek: :roll:

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:35 pm

Just catching up here... Doesn't seem right that it needs higher voltage to work.. Maybe some resistor is to high in value and its not charging the cap up ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:41 pm

exxos wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:35 pm
Just catching up here... Doesn't seem right that it needs higher voltage to work.. Maybe some resistor is to high in value and its not charging the cap up ?
On the prototype board I am using 1K as per the Mega ST schematic as the pull up resistor connected to the reset switch. Apart from the pull-up on the ~Reset (Mega ST schematic and my test board) there are no other resistors.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:59 pm

What about 2 1k in series on the sense on pin 7 to bias it to 2.5v ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4593
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by exxos » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:02 am

Also pin 5 needs 10k pull up and pin 6 pull down according to the data sheet...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 680
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: RESET circuit tweaks

Post by Icky » Sun Nov 11, 2018 12:14 am

exxos wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:59 pm
What about 2 1k in series on the sense on pin 7 to bias it to 2.5v ?
Gave that ago on 5V with no response. output just sat at 0V

Section 10 of the data sheet found by Forgottenmyname is interesting around having to terminate both outputs and also putting a resistor in series with the Charge Threshold capacitor http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tl7705b.pdf

Post Reply