1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Problems with your machine in general.
Post Reply
Magnus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:09 am

1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Post by Magnus » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:44 am

Hi,

I recently bought a new Exxos PSU for my 1040 STE.

After installing it, the computer won’t begin booting. I only get at black screen, no floppy disk activity. However, if I press the reset switch, it starts booting normally and reaches the desktop.

If I hold the reset button while powering on and then release the reset button, everything boots perfectly.

I checked the voltages and I get 5.16V and 12.24V with the new PSU under load in the machine, so to me that looks correct.

My questions are:

- Is this harmful to the computer?

-Why this behaviour? With the old PSU this never happend.

- Is there something I can do to make it boot without holding the reset button? I read about “reset delay circuit” and adding a larger cap. Is this the thing to do?

- Should I replace the reset button? I read on the forum that it can give all sorts of problem.

I would really appreciate any help!

/Magnus

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6223
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Post by exxos » Mon Apr 15, 2019 9:53 am

Its a common problem with caps going bad in the reset circuit. You need to replace them, maybe even increase the value.

The new exxos PSUs have a current limited "soft start" on power up, its to limit the inrush current to about 0.5amps rather than power up with the full 5amps etc. Unfortunately the softstart shows up as symptoms you mention when the reset circuit has gone bad and no longer gives the correct reset time.

I have never seen this happen on any of my machines. But I do hear reports of such issues now and then. These machines are 30 years old now. Any hardware modification can cause odd side effects. They all end up with their own quirks.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Magnus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:09 am

Re: 1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Post by Magnus » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:00 am

Thank you for your very quick reply Exxos!

I’ll replace the caps in the reset circuit. Do you know where I can find them on the motherboard or where I can read more about replacing them?

/Magnus

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6223
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: 1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Post by exxos » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:03 am

Likely C102.. its sort of near the front left side of the machine... just solder another 22uF across it, see if it cures it.

sters.JPG
sters.JPG (34.9 KiB) Viewed 52 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Magnus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2019 8:09 am

Re: 1040 STE boot problem after installing Exxos PSU

Post by Magnus » Mon Apr 15, 2019 10:17 am

Thank you again Exxos! I wish all customer support was this good!

Post Reply