ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Help & news on accelerators from TF, Amiga, Atari, CD32 etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 26, 2020 9:09 am

This board is designed to allow me to re-engineer Agnus (cycle exact) and enable us to build Amigas into the future.

It was built out of necessity to get me a 8372AB for my ReA3000. But i should be able to reassign the pins for other Agnus revisions (provided the power pins are always the same).

Design is an ICE40HX4K FPGA + Level Shifters. It solders into a PLCC TH socket like Megachip. I'm sure someone will ask why I didnt put ram on here.. Simple. I'm a purist. I want this chip to replace Agnus and nothing else.
reagnus.JPG
reagnus.JPG (173.08 KiB) Viewed 6383 times
Should be possible to tweak the design it to any PLCC part for ST's and Amigas.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3621
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by PhilC » Tue May 26, 2020 9:24 am

Looking good so far @terriblefire .
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

go0se
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by go0se » Tue May 26, 2020 10:45 am

This looks great!

Would you need to 45 degree chop the (bottom left of the PCB if I've got my install orientation correct...) corner of the board edge where the (c) is in order to clear the cap (C816 on Rev8a board.) on an A500+ ?. Pulling that cap flat as in the picture below is not always possible.

Screenshot from 2020-05-26 10-32-53.resized.png
Screenshot from 2020-05-26 10-32-53.resized.png (641.94 KiB) Viewed 6353 times

dalek
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am
Location: NSW Australia

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by dalek » Tue May 26, 2020 12:14 pm

OMG that would be fantastic! I've always been worried what would happen if the one in my A3000 died :(

The other good (bad!) thing about that Agnus is it's the one people stole to give Rev 6 A500's 2MB chip RAM.

Also please double the RAM from 0MB to 0MB.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 663
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Tue May 26, 2020 12:51 pm

Awesome news!!
:excited: :excited: :excited: :cheer:
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Tue May 26, 2020 12:58 pm

Wow.
Is this chip £5 or am I missing something?
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 26, 2020 1:07 pm

arkadiusz.makarenko wrote:
Tue May 26, 2020 12:58 pm
Wow.
Is this chip £5 or am I missing something?
Yes. Its £4.18 + vat :)
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

EzdineG
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:19 pm

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by EzdineG » Tue May 26, 2020 1:59 pm

I’ll take one for my A1000, please :?

Wouldn’t that be something?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3334
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 26, 2020 2:18 pm

Well the board is easy. Firmware will be the pain.

But i'll do a run once i get something working.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Maximilian
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: ReAgnus Board (Design Complete)

Post by Maximilian » Tue May 26, 2020 4:41 pm

Thaty is an amazing project, :D
(wasn't someone else doing the same?)

Are there any pins over on the FPGA and the bus buffers?
If wired to a couple of pads those could be used for upgrades or feature selection like Pal/Ntsc.
Just a thought..

Post Reply

Return to “Terriblefire's channel”