Atari TT - ST-Ram board upgrade 2MB - 8MB

Upgrade your RAM from ST to Falcon.
mrbombermillzy
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:37 pm

Re: Atari TT - ST-Ram board upgrade 2MB - 8MB

Post by mrbombermillzy » Mon Jun 04, 2018 11:12 pm

tuxie wrote:
Mon Jun 04, 2018 3:43 pm
Are you realy using the ST-Ram anymore ? My ST-Ram is always empty because it uses all Altram, normaly all applications should run out of the Fastram.
(Just my opininion )
In theory, ST RAM should be very useful for games. If we could urge new game developers to take advantage of the full available ST RAM, we could have an Audio/Video 'pool' of, well, 12Mb I believe on the TT!

Even the 4Mb of the St/e is better than the 1.5/2Mb of the Amiga 'chip RAM'.

However, Im still learning ATM. Someone like Anima or PPera could probably certify this for sure.

tuxie
Posts: 127
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Atari TT - ST-Ram board upgrade 2MB - 8MB

Post by tuxie » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:45 am

No the TT cant handle 12Mb, i tested it already, i have 8MB onboard and i plugged an 8MB Modul on it, the TT did recognize just 10MB...

But truthly, do you know Games what you can use on TT what can use a bigger size of ST-Ram ?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: Atari TT - ST-Ram board upgrade 2MB - 8MB

Post by frank.lukas » Tue Jun 05, 2018 9:36 am

10MB ST Ram is the Max because of the VME Bus.

mrbombermillzy
Posts: 51
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:37 pm

Re: Atari TT - ST-Ram board upgrade 2MB - 8MB

Post by mrbombermillzy » Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:35 pm

Ah.. Ok. :|

I dont suppose there are any jumpers on the motherboard to disable the 2Mb that is reserved for VME then or anything along those lines?

@Tuxie: Unfortunately, you are right; there seems to be very few games made especially for anything that isnt ST/e or Falcon. I would love to try coding something for the TT or MSTE!

Post Reply