STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 booster.
Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Forgottenmyname » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:02 pm

Ok, no gas iron but can do it with hot air, so will give it a go with that.

Got plenty of solder paste and flux on the shelf.

Thanks.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4022
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:06 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:02 pm
Ok, no gas iron but can do it with hot air, so will give it a go with that.

Got plenty of solder paste and flux on the shelf.
ok, but don't get anything else hot on the board else likely end in bad joints or melted header pins!
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Forgottenmyname » Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:14 pm

I have a shed load of kapton tape, hopefully that'll help :D

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Aug 01, 2018 11:42 pm

As usual some of my planned activities fell by the wayside due to running into other Atari related issues.

However, the install of the new 40Mhz booster was not one of them!!

Here you can see the board installed and running, tied down to 8Mhz for the first run:
installed.jpg
installed.jpg (360.78 KiB) Viewed 416 times
Once running, I removed the link to ground that tied it to 8Mhz, then what was I to do, but benchmark it, so here is a direct comparison using GEMBench, of my 32Mhz MK1 booster vs my MK1.5 at 40Mhz.

Here's 32Mhz first:
32Mhz.jpg
32Mhz.jpg (358.33 KiB) Viewed 416 times
And here's 40Mhz:
40Mhz.jpg
40Mhz.jpg (357.32 KiB) Viewed 416 times
As you can see, there is quite a noticeable difference, so I have to say well done to exxos for doing such a good job :bravo:

The only problem I ran into was gettinin it into the slot, as I bent a single pin on the fist attempt. It was a bit odd because all of the other pins went in no problem, apart from one at the top end of the left hand row.

Luckily it was a minor task to remove the booster and straighten the pin, and everything went in smooothly on the 2nd attempt.

Oviously more testing is required, like the almost obligatory Elite 2 test, and a GB6 burn in test, but I'm confident it will run well.

The final piece of the puzzle will be to fit a switch so I can flip between 8Mhz and 40Mhz.

I'll report more as I get round to doing it.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4022
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:51 am

:bravo:

If you run the new booster do all tests, then load the STE20632 file, then you should see the speed difference between 32MHz and 40MHz.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 498
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Aug 02, 2018 9:53 am

exxos wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 8:51 am
If you run the new booster do all tests, then load the STE20632 file, then you should see the speed difference between 32MHz and 40MHz.
Will do so as soon as I can.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ape Warp mod, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg) + Gotek, 1040STFM + Vortex ATOnce + Gotek, 1040STF long button floppy, 4160 STE with Gotek and ROM switcher, 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher and CosmosEx, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4022
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:36 pm

Seems HD10.01 doesn't like booting in 40MHz mode for some odd reason :shrug:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Forgottenmyname » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:37 pm

Ok, so one 3.3v oscillator replaced with a 5v one and back in business, thanks Chris.

To celebrate, here are a couple of benchmarks.

Below is the 40mhz vs 8mhz STE
20180803_222939_resized.jpg
20180803_222939_resized.jpg (443.56 KiB) Viewed 348 times
And below this is 40mhz vs 32mhz
20180803_222608_resized.jpg
20180803_222608_resized.jpg (445.31 KiB) Viewed 348 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4022
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:44 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:37 pm
And below this is 40mhz vs 32mhz
hmmm, something not right with that... 32MHz has 309% ROM access, 368% 40MHz - 309% = 59% (yours whos 19% increase).

Similar with first test, 181% 32MHz, 203% 40MHz - 181% = 22% (your shows 12% increase)...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 405
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Forgottenmyname » Fri Aug 03, 2018 10:49 pm

Could it be the different GB that I was using? If you look at the percentages for the 40mhz, they are the same more or less to RJ's but the average is very different.

Of course it's not impossible I loaded the wrong comparison? what was the file name?

Post Reply