Gotek Q&A

Update your old 720k to a 1.44 drive etc.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2683
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:22 pm

What model of Gotek do you have? There is a number next to the 34 pin connector. I have heard some are not entirely compatible so worth checking.

Otherwise it may be a problem drive. Can you test it on another machine?
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

dan_bremen
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2019 2:17 am

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by dan_bremen » Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:17 pm

Model is SFRC922D, I will try to downgrade again but for the moment I'm getting "ERR" on the screen when trying so maybe I will need to flash again with the PC :?

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2683
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by rubber_jonnie » Wed Aug 14, 2019 9:53 pm

That model is OK, can you post a pic of your jumpers on the Gotek please.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 513
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:27 pm

dan_bremen wrote:
Wed Aug 14, 2019 7:17 pm
Model is SFRC922D, I will try to downgrade again but for the moment I'm getting "ERR" on the screen when trying so maybe I will need to flash again with the PC :?
I would suggest to order new Gotek. It is only £15?
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

bfollowell
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:53 am

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by bfollowell » Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm

I always hate to revive old threads, but this one seems to be a pinned thread, and someone may later benefit from my question, so I'll ask away.

First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04. Will someone that knows confirm that one way or the other?

Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?

Thanks!

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 340
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by DoG » Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:50 pm

bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04
TOS version doesn't matter. As long as it can read a normal disk drive you are fine swapping it for a Gotek.
bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?
Should be as simple as that. If the disk drive works on both system now it should work when swapped with a Gotek.

bfollowell
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:53 am

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by bfollowell » Fri Feb 07, 2020 6:29 pm

That's awesome news! Just what I was hoping to hear.

Thanks.

stephen_usher
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by stephen_usher » Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:30 pm

bfollowell wrote:
Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:33 pm
I always hate to revive old threads, but this one seems to be a pinned thread, and someone may later benefit from my question, so I'll ask away.

First of all, it seems that I'd read somewhere that there was a minimum TOS version required to use a Gotek in an ST. I'd heard it was TOS 1.04. Will someone that knows confirm that one way or the other?

Secondly, I have a 520STM, no internal disk drive, and I'd like to install a Gotek in the SF314 drive I have for that system. I already have one that works in an Atari STF. Will it work with my STM and, if so, is it as simple as swapping out the drive mechanism for the Gotek?

Thanks!
You have to be aware that the SF314 have three different sets of internals. Two of them use a normal Shugart ribbon connector and pin-out but the third has a very different (Chinon specific) one which takes a bit of work to make it compatible.

By the way, there’s a new Gotek compatible which uses an SD card instead of a USB drive and specifically designed to fit in an Amiga, which may be a better fit for the Ataris. It’s called a Goex drive.
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

bfollowell
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 6:53 am

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by bfollowell » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:16 pm

I was able to just swap it out, like DoG said, and everything worked perfectly, at least with the one drive. I have two other drives and haven't check those out yet, but the original drive that came with the 520STM system I'm checking out worked perfectly.

I'll keep an eye on the others.

stephen_usher
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:19 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Going Gotek - FlashFloppy How To

Post by stephen_usher » Sat Feb 08, 2020 10:51 pm

This is what the Chinon interface looks like:
IMG_1615.jpg
IMG_1615.jpg (49.86 KiB) Viewed 935 times
Intro retro computers since before they were retro...
ZX81->Spectrum->Memotech MTX->Sinclair QL->520STM->BBC Micro->TT030->PCs & Sun Workstations.
Added code to the MiNT kernel (still there the last time I checked) + put together MiNTOS.
Collection now with added Macs, Amigas, Suns and Acorns.

Post Reply

Return to “FLOPPY DRIVES KITS & UPGRADES”