V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Help & information about the V1.5 booster.
LaoMu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 pm

V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by LaoMu » Tue May 15, 2018 8:57 pm

Hi,
I am thinking about to buy a V1.5 booster and put it into my Mega ST1 with 4 MB of Ram. What is not clear for me, what
I have to do with the installed Blitterpatch. Is that obsolet together with the booster?

BR
LaoMu

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2920
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by exxos » Tue May 15, 2018 9:06 pm

If you have a more "recent" blitter, then remove the patch and fix the trace under the CPU.. The patch is only needed on early blitters.

See bottom of this page...

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/MEGAST/index.htm
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

LaoMu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by LaoMu » Tue May 15, 2018 10:22 pm

Hi,
thx for answering. I have a ST/SGS Blitter coded 8833. I assume that one do not need the patch, right?
Regarding the interrupted track....I think I just solder a small wire between the 2 points which
had been connected trough the track before.

Thanks LaoMu

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2920
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by exxos » Tue May 15, 2018 10:29 pm

It should be ok, I would remove the patch and give your machine a good try out first just to be sure.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

LaoMu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by LaoMu » Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm

Hi ,
I tried that out and the Mega ST runs fine without the blitter-patch. Before I order the booster 1.5 I have one question (one more). :)
I do need to order the booster 1.5 and the fast rom kit as well. But inthe moment there is no german dual tos chip in the shop.

Is this available again soon?

BR

Lao Mu

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2920
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by exxos » Thu May 24, 2018 9:42 pm

LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
I tried that out and the Mega ST runs fine without the blitter-patch.
:bravo: thanks for letting us know!

LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
I do need to order the booster 1.5 and the fast rom kit as well.
You need the fast ROM kit.
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 9:36 pm
But in the moment there is no german dual tos chip in the shop.
Is this available again soon?
They should be in the shop in a few days, I just have not had chance to do more stock for them yet..

I would also suggest you get the mega buffer board..
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/#0039
http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/V ... MEGABUFFER
otherwise it may be unstable..

You are likely need some different resistor arrays for the mega, I can enclose them if needed..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

LaoMu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by LaoMu » Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm

I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:
Attachments
IMG_1296.JPG
IMG_1296.JPG (2.46 MiB) Viewed 259 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2920
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by exxos » Thu May 24, 2018 10:06 pm

LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm
I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:
You should be able to plug the buffer into the socket you have there... it just buffers the clocks so I don't think there should be any problems..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

LaoMu
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:25 pm

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by LaoMu » Thu May 24, 2018 10:13 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:06 pm
LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:00 pm
I would apriciate if you can sell me the correct resistor arrays as well. I see a problem occuring with the buffer board.
This is installed in the shifter socket.....and I have a 4MB ram expansion installed there. Can this mounted together, as a sandwich ? :?:
You should be able to plug the buffer into the socket you have there... it just buffers the clocks so I don't think there should be any problems..
Ok then. Shall I order via the shop, or do You pack that all together with the resitor arrays and the Fast tos german. And tell me the final price.
I pay via paypal then..

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2920
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V1.5 booster & Blitterpatch

Post by exxos » Thu May 24, 2018 10:16 pm

LaoMu wrote:
Thu May 24, 2018 10:13 pm
Ok then. Shall I order via the shop, or do You pack that all together with the resistor arrays and the Fast tos german. And tell me the final price.
Give me a few days to create the roms, then just order form my store, will send resistors free.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply