68010 in Mega STE

General discussions or ideas about hardware.
Post Reply
Petari
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

68010 in Mega STE

Post by Petari » Sat Jun 09, 2018 10:05 am

Finally I was able to put working 68010 CPU in my Mega STE, thanx to Exxos, who generously sent me 1 piece. Saying it because I ordered one some years ago from China, and it is dead as piece of rock. It works with TOS 2.06 - where is support for that CPU, and will work with some other versions what I prepare(d) - like 1.62 with large stackframe support.

But any switching of cache to on results in immediate crash, freeze - so nothing from 16 MHz faster work with 68010 . Did not see it mentioned anywhere. And there is of course incompatibility with plenty of SW. So, I don't see why someone would use that CPU in Mega STE, or even in STE . It may be slightly faster with some instructions, there is support for virtual memory - but I don't know any SW what uses it. Another feature, which was implemented, and barely used - or better to say here: never used ?

User avatar
frank.lukas
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:52 am

Re: 68010 in Mega STE

Post by frank.lukas » Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:05 pm

May be try the lastest 256kB EmuTOS Version in the Mega STE with the 010 CPU.

Petari
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: 68010 in Mega STE

Post by Petari » Sat Jun 09, 2018 6:28 pm

Why should I lower compatibility even more with EmuTOS ?
And really no time for some experimental OS - sorry, but EmuTOS is still it. My Mega STE started making problems, and getting unreliable. So, I need some serious servicing of it this days.

Petari
Posts: 314
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: 68010 in Mega STE

Post by Petari » Sun Jun 10, 2018 9:47 am

Here is how it works with modded TOS 1.62:
https://youtu.be/YZYI6ZylMeo
Basically, it is same as image what I posted in February - just added some extra Mega STE initialization and new icons.
T162LSI5.ZIP
(106.78 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
Works with 68000 CPU too. Of course, be prepared that many SW will not work. Mostly games, I guess - larger stackframe. But there may be other cases. As said cache on will freeze computer immediately . And my modded TOS core for RAM, what works well with 68030 fails with 68010 too - what is very strange, since I used exactly the same stackframe code as in ROM version. But this is not for gamers, for sure.
You can use this ROM in STE too .

Steve
Posts: 70
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: 68010 in Mega STE

Post by Steve » Sun Jun 10, 2018 3:47 pm

frank.lukas wrote:
Sat Jun 09, 2018 12:05 pm
May be try the lastest 256kB EmuTOS Version in the Mega STE with the 010 CPU.
I think this is a good idea and no harm in trying... :)

Post Reply